Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
terrysal_gw

New to Hummingbirds

terrysal
15 years ago

I was given a hummingbird feeder and made some sugar water for it (4:1) but am wondering what the correct height is for the feeder to be off the ground? I have it on a plant holder stake right now because this is what I have so it sits about 2 feet off the ground. Is this too low? I have never seen any cats in the area and I've been here a couple of years now, so I don't see that as a problem. But what is the better height to have this at?

Comments (46)

• donnalovesblue
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Two feet off the ground might be a bit low, but I'm no expert. And of course they will feed on flowers that low. I usually have several feeders hanging from a sheperd's hook, and the lowest would be about 4 or 5 feet from the ground. My others hang from the eaves of my breezeway, which are pretty high, but they suspend from a chain. Hope this helps.

Donna

• terrysal
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I didn't think about the birds feeding on the plants that low. Well, for now I will give it a try and see what happens. I haven't seen a hummingbird yet, and it may be too soon for them here in my area, I don't know. Thanks for the reply.

Here is a link that might be useful: Clippy Notes

• susiewantsroses
    15 years ago

terrysal- I live in TX zone 7b. I would think that your feeder may get visited by ants if it is too low. Keep watch. susie

• barbzeee
    15 years ago