Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
misssherryg

New Poster Here!

MissSherry
10 years ago

I've been feeding hummingbirds since the 1970's, and, as I recall, I posted a few times on this forum years ago. Since it's been so long, you regulars wouldn't remember me. I'm mainly into butterflies, raise the caterpillars of many types, but I also love those hummers, planting for them and maintaining their feeders.
I saw my first male ruby throat late this year on the 19th of March, but a female showed up at the regular time, on the 23rd of March. There are now at least two males, because they're already zapping each other - things are normal.

I had the pleasure of feeding a male rufous hummingbird in the winter of 2012-2013 - he stayed all winter and molted before he left. That was quite a pleasure! I didn't get a rufous or other overwintering western hummer this past winter.

Anyway, I just wanted to introduce (or re-introduce) myself.

Here's a picture I made of the rufous hummingbird not long before he left -

Sherry

Comments (12)

• shillanorth Z4 AB
    10 years ago

Welcome back! Maybe I will see your little guy about mid-July on his way back to you! Butterflies and hummers - is there anything better to watch on a summer`s afternoon? I will be waiting `til May for those little beauties to show up but do appreciate any photos you lucky southerners can send in the interim!

Sheila

• janalyn
    10 years ago

Welcome! We have had about half dozen Annas who wintered with us...the rufous should be arriving in two or three days. Am very grateful to all those who had feeders up for them as they made their way up the coast to their breeding grounds here in BC.

• Rhonda
    10 years ago

Hey Sherry. Welcome...I enjoy your butterfly wisdom and photos. I'm sure that many of your bf nectar plants are also loved by hummers.
    Rhonda

• MissSherry
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks all!

Sherry

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    10 years ago