Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barbzeee

Making Humming bird Nectar

barbzeee
15 years ago

When you make up this solution of 4:1 Organic Sugar and Water how long can you keep it in the frig... for when I leave Florida I want to make up some nectar so that my housekeeper can change the feeder and put in fresh nectar.. Of course I've bought enough Sugar ..LOL don't want them to go with out..I'm hooked can ya tell..even bought a few feeders just in case... but hopefully when I get to Pa I'll be able to put up a feeder too and enjoy those that have come to the North..

I had to go out and buy the Organic sugar this afternoon as I went from the Red Stuff to White sugar ..that's all I had..and now I'm on to the real Mc Coy...hopefully..

Look forward to reading as you all post

God Bless

BarbZeee

Comments (7)

• donnalovesblue
    15 years ago

BarbZeee...Here's what I've been doing for many years and it works for me and the hummers. You can either boil the water or microwave it. Add the sugar and let it sit long enough for the sugar to melt. It should keep in the fridge for a least a week. (BTW, I have never used organic sugar). Make sure your housekeeper cleans the feeder before filling.

Yes, we're all hooked on these little creatures and I'm sure you'll have them to enjoy back in PA.

Donna

• rob_a
    15 years ago

Barb, I don't boil the water, but I do have a filter on my kitchen facet to remove chlorine and other unpleasant tasting chemicals.
    The water I use for nectar tastes good to me, and my hummers. We are all healthy.
    Rob

• donnalovesblue
    15 years ago

Good advice, Rob! I agree with you.

• barbzeee
    Original Author
    15 years ago