Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashcraftbunch

new and no hummer s yet.

ashcraftbunch
14 years ago

I am new to hummingbird garden's and that is what I am going for besides my daylilies and I have 4 feeders up I have salvias blooming and petunias and Have tons of moring glories and cyperss vine coming up. Can I get some more people to tell me what they have done to attract the flyin jewels to their yards and new beds? My feeders have been up for a month and nothing yet and the migration map has them everywhere around me. Thanks ahead tp everyone that is willing to help me out...

Jamie

Comments (8)

• prunnerjack
    14 years ago

Jamie,

My wife and I have had our 4 feeders out for a month now as well. Until about a week ago we thought we had no hummers. Last Saturday I went to change the feeders with some fresh nectar. Usually I do this around nine in the morning, but my son had Tball that day so I did my chores (funny it was my wife who wanted the feeders in the first place, but some how I ended up with the cleaning and changing. lol) around 6:00 am and while gathering the feeders for cleaning I was buzzed several times. Seems we have early morning visitors for the time being.

Last year my wife and I setup our first feeder. We got lucky and within a week it was being visited non-stop. Enjoying their company we bought several more feeders. By September we had over two dozen hummers visiting from sun up to sun down. I know it's hard, but be patient and I know you will be rewarded.

• penny1947
    14 years ago

Jamie
    What state are you located in? Adding addtionbal plants may help but it would be easier to suggest plants knowing where you are.

P.S. They are all around me too but I am still waiting also.
    Penny

• hawkeye_wx
    14 years ago

I'm in the same boat. Hummingbirds have been reported all over my area for the last week, but I have seen none at my feeder.

• mimidi
    14 years ago