Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ncgardner_gw

Which size container is Best for Hummers??

ncgardner
15 years ago

New to this world of feeding hummers. Went today to buy a feeder and could only find an 8oz or a 28oz bottle size feeder. Is there an advantage to a larger size or smaller size. I don't know if a large size means cleaning more often due to water not being used as fast or if the larger is better (common sense tells me the larger is the way to go) because it last longer? Sounds like a meaningless question but also it there a better brand than another?

How long do you leave the feeders out?

Thanks

Comments (11)

• suzzque
    15 years ago

I'm new to this board, but I've been feeding the hummingbirds for several years now. I use all sizes of feeders because I place them in many places for our viewing pleasure.

I choose feeders according to how easy they are to clean. Those that come apart in 2 sections at the feeding holes are my personal favorites because of easy clearning.

The small ones have to be filled up more often, but that's not really a bad thing as you want to keep the sugar water clean.

When summer gets a good hold, I find the hummingbirds drink quite a lot, at least here in Zone 8 in Texas and by late summer and early fall, they are hard to keep up with because they drink so much.

Hope this helps,
    Janice

• ctnchpr
    15 years ago

ncgardner,

When you ask "How long do you leave the feeders out?", do you want to know when to take them down in the Fall?

• christy2828
    15 years ago