Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jguard_gw

Hummers don't seem interested

jguard
13 years ago

Hi all. I'm new to attracting Hummingbirds. They seemed to come around last year with little effort. Now this year I'm in to amateur photography and would like to photograph them. I put out two feeders;one hanging and one sitting on the deck rail. One of my favorite birds to shoot are Blue Jays. And I've been quite successful in attracting them. So far, I've only seen 3 Hummers and they seem to care less about my feeders. Two of them hovered by them only for a second. Some questions I have:

1. what kind of food should be in the feeders

2. chipmunks are running wild in our yard and are getting close to the feeders, are they the problem?

3. Blue Jays. Are they keeping away the Hummers?

I don't have many Hummer friendly plants/flowers but there are a few. I will be adding more over the weekend. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Comments (15)

• hummersr2cute
    13 years ago

I had an issue with hummers not seeming interested until I changed the food I was giving them. Although hummers love the color red - if you are feeding them the hummer food dyed with red food coloring, throw it out. The food coloring is not healthy for hummers, and this is probably why they are not frequenting your feeders. Instead, rinse out hummer feeder really well, and then mix 1 full cup of granulated sugar with enough water to fill up one hummer feeder. This will give them the nutrients they need and will be perfectly safe. After I made the switch, within less than a week, the hummer feeder was completely EMPTY. We now have at least 6 - 7 hummers that visit regularly.

Here are some other ideas you may want to consider to attract hummers....

1. Set your garden hose nozzle to MIST. Hummers love the water and a light mist will attract the birds. An idea: secure a post or 2 x 4 in the ground and attach your "mister" there. Soon, you will see hummers flying thru the mist.