Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mehitabel_gw

Please tell us how you started getting visits

mehitabel
9 years ago

For the benefit of people who are just starting trying to attract hummers, I hope the old hands who have lots of visitors will tell us how they *started*-- what they did that first succeeded --especially visitors from the first migration north.

We would really appreciate some details about how to get those first ones to stop on their way north-- Where are you? What did you do? How long did it take to get your first one? Any periods that are lulls when no birds appear? What was blooming nearby when you got your first visitor? That sort of thing.

I'm getting hummers in July as soon as the agastache start to bloom, but still struggling to find a way to attract any this early. Please help!

Comments (20)

• donnalovesblue
    9 years ago

Hi there....I have been feeding the hummers for many years here in east central MS. I don't have many hummer loving plants, but I can promise there is nothing like feeders! The more you hang, the more you'll attract. Don't purchase the fancy kinds...my preference is Perky Pet and First Nature. The First Nature brand has a plastic jar and easy to clean as the bottom pops off, but I really like the glass Perky Pet brand better for some reason. I have several PP feeders with 4 ports and perches and several with the continuous perch around it. My first visitor is usually around March 18-25....as the season progresses, I add more feeders and by the end of July, Aug., I will have a total of 12 feeders...and boy, that keeps me busy! During south migration, there will be a feeding frenzy and so much fun to watch. Never buy the commercial red nectar, but make your own from 4 cups water to 1 cup sugar. I don't boil mine, but simmer a minute for the sugar to melt, put in the fridge and let come to room temp for immediate use.

Good luck and hope you get lots of these little jewels!

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    9 years ago