Return to the Hummingbird Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hello, first time user here

Posted by tonyalea Ohio (My Page) on
Sat, May 12, 07 at 14:24

Hello all this is my first time using this forum so if I have done something in error please inform. I have just put my feeder out and planted a Columbine to attract these wonderful creatures. How long will it take before the start buzzing around? I have seen them last year but never had my feeder out till now. Neighbors around us do have feeders and feed regular. Could you give me any more advice on shrubs, plants, or flowers I should plant or what actions I should take. By the way I am in Central Ohio.
Thanks a bunch.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hello, first time user here

Hi Tony and welcome. Hummers have been in your area for a while now. Spring blooming plants to add to your garden are: Aquilegia canadensis (native eastern columbine), Bleeding hearts, Coral Bells (red flower), single flowered azaleas, rhododendron, flowering quince, red buckeye, Coral honeysuckle blooms early and will continue to bloom all season so that is a good staple plant.
For all season blooms Salvia coccinea is a number one attractor. It is an annual but may reseed for you. Some places sell the cultivar Lady in Red. Our walmart has had it in the past but so far they haven't had any at all this year. It is very easy to grow from seed too. Another must have is Salvia guaranitica Black & Blue. This could be a perennial for you with enough winter protection. THey get very large (almost shrub like), Monarda 'Jacob's Cline' is a great mid summer flowering perennial and Lobelia cardinalis (cardinal flower) is a great late summer flowering perennial. Other perennial plants include Lychinis chalcedonica (Maltese Cross), Crocosmia 'Lucifer' Agastache cana, There are several threads here on this forum that discus hummer plants that will list many more. THis should give you a starting point.

Penny

o