Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mozart2_gw

Hummingbirds & Orioles - Can They Get Along?

Mozart2
17 years ago

Hi Folks:

Since this is my first year at feeding Hummers and Orioles, my question is short and simple:

It is alright to place hummingbird and oriole feeders on the same pole system?

Or will this cause an Avian conflict of some sort?

I just obtained a second Wild Birds Unlimited Advanced Pole system - with two sets of arms -specifically with the intention of feeding both hummers and orioles.

One end of one "arm" is (temporarily or permanently) supporting a hanging basket of two Fushia plants (I'll decide its status later) and the other three "ends" will support one or two hummingbird feeders and/or one or two oriole feeders - one of which contains two jelly "jars" and two spikes for orange halves.

I'll probably obtain an extension post and add a separate third arm so that I can add a fourth feeder on the pole and still accomdate the Fuchsia plants.

For those not familiar with WBU's Advanced Pole System, I have provided a convenient aducational link.

Any insights and/or advice will be greatly appreciated.

Bill

Here is a link that might be useful: WBU - Advanced Pole System

Comments (16)

• lynxville
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

They pay no attention to each other, I do it all the time.

• kayjones
    17 years ago

My Orioles and Hummingbirds eat out of the same humminbird feeder, at separate times - lots of fun to watch!

• ksflowergirl
    17 years ago

I'm curious about feeding Orioles also. I had a pair in my yard last night, and they seemed to trying to use the hummingbird feeder, but didn't appear to be having much success. I've seen nectar feeders for orioles. Are these recommended? What are the differences between an oriole and hummingbird feeder? I really enjoy my hummers, but would love to have some orioles as regular visitors also.

• Mozart2
    Original Author
    17 years ago

ksflowergirl: