Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ckroeg

plants for Hummers Zone 4 hardy, new to hummer gardens

ckroeg
17 years ago

Hi everyone, I am new to hummingbird gardening. I am looking for whatever advice I can get on plants for such a garden. Obviously, hummingbirds aren't all I am gardening for but I would like to incorporate plants that will draw them into my yard.

This is what I have: Apple trees, other trees, veggie/herb garden, soon to be a koi pond, and a small corner area with some hummingbird attracting plants. A trumpet creeper with the large red flowers, two honeysuckles (mandarin and John Clayton). These are the only perenial items, but I do have some annuals in the bed under the feeders (zinnia, salvia, and I think some snap dragons).

Since we now have our first house we are going hog wild with the landscaping of the yard and loving it. We put up a couple bird feeders and a simple hummingbird feeder just to draw a few birds. Then we happened by a wild bird store and started talking to the owner and looking at all the possiblities. Then the ideas started flying of what we could and should put where to bring in the hummingbirds as an added bit or entertainment. Since winter seems to last FOREVER around here you have to make the most out of what spring/summer weather you get.

We bought a couple different booklets on bird gardening and hummingbirds, but of course they aren't super specific to any one zone. Being new at the perennial gardening stuff it gets confusing when you walk into any nursery. So many names and you tend to get carried away more by the looks of things at the time then with the purpose you are seeking. Overwhelming for sure.

What I would like to do is walk into a nursery and look for a few specific plants that I know will or could bring in hummingbirds, without having to read every item to find it.And know that they will survive the harsh Minnesota winter.