Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gklee

Can I cut back bee balm?

gklee
18 years ago

This is my first experience with bee balm and the stuff is going crazy....shooting out in all different directions. Can I cut these back...at least the stems growing along the ground?

And what about deadheading? Should I pluck off the spent blooms?

This has probably been rehashed a dozen times on here but I couldn't find any previous posts on this issue. Thanks!

Comments (45)

• sarahbn
    18 years ago

I don't but I'm your basic lazy gardner. Sarah

• roberta_nc
    18 years ago

I'm not an expert but can give you my best guess. I've grown it for a couple of years and because it spreads so easily I don't think cutting it back can hurt it. When mine first started coming out this year I pinched the a lot of the tips to make it bushier. At this point I wouldn't back anything that looks like it is getting ready to bloom, of course. I do cut off the spent blooms. Maybe others have more experience and can give us some tips.

• birdgardner
    18 years ago

I've heard it can rebloom with enough moisture, but mine dries out in the summer. Cutting back keeps it tidy and doesn't hurt.

• penny1947
    18 years ago

I pull out whole stems from the base when they get too wild. I deadhead only to keep it neat. You can cut, pull out chop and break it off and it will still come back...very tough plant.

Penny

• gklee
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for the responses. You've been a big help!

Glenn

• oubliette
    18 years ago

What about pentas? Should they be deadheaded? Mine have been blooming like crazy, but now they are full of spent blooms.

• CHARANN102
    18 years ago

I just deadheaded all of my PINK bee balm this morning. I can see where new shoots are trying to come out along the main stem. I'm hoping to get another blooming out of the side shoots.