Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
monica33flowers

Humming bird nectar

monica33flowers
14 years ago

Recently for my birthday a friend gave me a feeder and a bottle of the "food". I've never used the store bought stuff before. I pretty much stick to water and sugar base. I guess what is commonly called simple syrup. I use all the time for the Hummers and my ice tea.

My neighbor uses red Hawaiian punch in his. Is this bad for the Hummers?

Comments (18)

• donnalovesblue
    14 years ago

Yes, it's bad for the hummers, as is the commercial nectar! Always use the 4/1 ratio of water and sugar. Boil the water, add the sugar and allow it to melt completely. I store mine in the fridge so I always have some on hand. Please pass on this info to your neighbor!

Donna

• mbuckmaster
    14 years ago

Good heavens!....Hawaiian Punch?! That's new one for me. Why in the world would he want to waste all that money on something that's comparatively expensive and unhealthy for hummingbirds when they're healthy and happy with cheap and easy to make sugar water?!

Red coloring of any kind is completely unnecessary for nectar. As long as the feeder has red coloring, the birds will come and find it.

• monica33flowers
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Donna: That is what I thought about commercial nectar & Hawaiian punch. My neighbor acted like I was a complete moron. I always keep simple syrup (same ratio) in the fridge all summer long. I brew sun tea and I just like a touch of sweetness and it works great.

MBuck: I'm printing this page out to show my neighbor as well. I think I'll make a double batch of the simple syrup and give him some to use instead of Hawaiian Punch.

Thank you for letting me know I was correct.

• mbuckmaster
    14 years ago