Return to the Hummingbird Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Trumpet Vine?

Posted by rob_a Z9 Tx (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 6, 09 at 20:27

I bought a trumpet vine this year hoping to have blooms to attract hummers. It's grown stems four feet long, but has not bloomed yet. I think I read in an earlier post that they may not bloom the first year. Anyone know? I think I wasted my money.
Rob

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Trumpet Vine?

I am no expert, but we bought 4 the year before last. They were really small but we got all vine and no flowers that year.. It looks like this year we may have some flowers, but we will see. I hope you didn't place your trumpet vine near a structure as it roots itself and if not pruned it can lift the siding off a house by growing between the slats. I have seen that happen. We placed this one by the well house...but my husband built it too look like an old wooden well house with bucket and all. Cute, cute. I planted the trumpet vine so it would curl around the structure and on top of roof, making it look homey. The bucket contains impatiens. But, didn't I just tell you not to place it near a structure? LOL

o

Hey Rob--
please don't think you wasted your money! We put in 3 trumpet vines about 5 years ago. I have them growing up my 3 Black Walnut trees. I think it actually took about two years for them to bloom.

For the last three years their blooms have been prolific. The sweet thing is that the Hummingbirds are absolutely crazy about those trumpet flowers and literally swamp the trees all day long for the entire time that they are in bloom.

I am up in Delaware in zone 7 and mine do not bloom until about the second week in June. It was WELL worth the wait for them to bloom. Vicki

o