Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shannynil

where have the hummers gone?

shannynil
14 years ago

I've been feeding hummers successfully for 8-10 years. I maintain the feeders religiously. This year the hummers arrived pretty much on schedule - about 6 weeks ago. I've seen 10 or 12 birds at a time at the feeders daily UNTIL 2 days ago. Now they have simply disappeared. The feeders are clean, water is fresh, no ants, no spider webs, no cats, no chemicals. This has never happened before. I am totally without a clue as to what could have happened. Any ideas out there?

Comments (14)

• daydreamin09
    14 years ago

I live in PA. I have had the same problem. I started out with 5 hummers, and now I'm down to 1 little one. I thought this to be a little strange. I cleaned feeder and put fresh water in it again. Still only have the 1. I'm looking for an answer also!! Anyone?

• charann102_2006
    14 years ago

I live in PA - near Hershey and mine are nesting right now so I have a decrease in activity at the feeders except in the morning and evening.

Wild honeysuckle is blooming in PA and they are enjoying that rather than coming to the feeders.

By mid-June they should be returning to you. Keep doing what you are doing and they will return.

• lionsfan
    14 years ago

I had a few semi regulars by me but I think they spend most of their time at the open air nursery a mile away. I will have to wait for their inventory to go down I guess.

• pppearl
    14 years ago

Hi, I'm new to Garden Web but came online for the same reason........my hummers have vanished! I am in CA and this began about 2 weeks ago. I have had probably around 50 since early spring at two feeders filling sometimes three times a day. Suddenly......it is just sitting there. I cleaned and changed and still nothing. I hear a few birds chirping up in the trees and see maybe two visiting occasionally but basically they are gone. I remember a reduction last year too but not this dramatic.