Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hummersteve

More on hummers

hummersteve
15 years ago

IM no expert and dont want to sound that way. If any of you have say 3 or 4 or 5 hummers come to your yard every day why not add more feeders. Most of the experienced hummer enthusiasts know that if you see for example 5 hummers in your yard that the multiplecation theory means you actually have around 20 in your area. Theory-- multiply number of hummer you see by at least 3 or 4. If this is true then why not add feeders to bring in the extra hummers to your yard. Dont put them all together space them out in your yard. Most of you have a much bigger yard than I so it should be no problem.

walmart has these kind of feeders that the hummers really like. Also in the background you can see the habitat that is near me.

{{gwi:992864}}

here is a shot of hummer guarding feeder being challenged and getting ready for chase

{{gwi:992865}}

Comments (21)

• lovefornature
    15 years ago

Hi Hummersteve, I just purchased 4 of those little feeders from Wal-Mart....they are so cute!! I just hope I can figure out how to keep the ants off of them. I think Central Illinois is the major hub of Ant Central.

Great to know that I might actually have 9-10 hummers living in my area. I guess not too bad for non-migration season.

Nice habitat behind you. That must be your secret!!! No houses behind you, open habitat!! I see forestery in the distance. I have pretty decent habit behind me also, only a few houses, then forestry and a creek.

I took a couple of pictures of my Lady in Red and Coral Nymph Salvia today. They are blooming beautifully in whiskey barrels (finally).

I just need to figure out how to get the pics. on my puter because my new puppy chewed up the cord that I plug into the USB port. :(

Think I have a small printer that will accept the memory card and then move it to my computer.

Keep us updated on your lovely habitat!!

• hummersteve
    Original Author
    15 years ago