Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomatozilla

stinking feeders and bees!!!

tomatozilla
15 years ago

I have been feeding in Los Angeles for at least eight years, I've never had a bee problem. The birds currently consume the contents of an entire 27 oz. every 24 hours, which is enough work, sugar money and birds for me. Yesterday the bees moved in. Seems hummzingers or any feeder that accepts basket bee guards are too small capacity. I tried diatomaceous earth, tape over the seam the bees clustered under (the bees are under the rail mostly, not on the portals), moving the feeder, changing the feeder, smacking the bees around. Right now I have a butterfly feeder out there with strong solution as some have suggested to distract bees, and I see a few are going right into the ports and maybe they'll stay there. The hummers started using that immediately! But the majority are still on the 27oz - they are crowded under the side plastic seam and rail as though it leaked or old leakage were dried there, and I really don't believe there is. The only results I got were that bees get pissed off and left because they can't use the 8oz Perky with the big yellow baskets but I have to change that every ten minutes. I put the big feeder out because I had to dig up my hummingbird flowers because a huge tree was taken out - if I remove the feeder I will kill hummers. Why are these feeder manufacturers not making anything serviceable? I believe I am having these bee problems now because this is the first time I've put a feeder in the front yard fruit and veggie garden where oregano and mint are in bloom nearby and attracting great rafts of bees, some of which are apparently very lazy. This has also proved to be the best birdwatching activity spot I've ever used by far, and the bird behavior is absolutely amazing when the feeder is working. So now I have to start hunting the bees I attracted to pollinate my food and evenomate my arthritic husband? Boy this stinks! Do those stupid eight o