Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovefornature

Hummer Plant Pics....this is my first year

lovefornature
15 years ago

Well, no biggie here, I was just proud to know that my brown thumb was easy on me this year and I grew Coral Nymph and Lady in Red in Whiskey Barrels successfully. They are blooming really well now. This is my first year for hummer plants, there will be more next year.

Comments (10)

• lorna-organic
    15 years ago

Sounds like you are hooked! :-) Are the hummers visiting your sages? Agastache is a favorite of hummingbirds. I have two of the type called Hummingbird Mint. The flowers are extremely long lasting.

Lorna

• ctnchpr
    15 years ago

Beautiful!! They're so lush and healthy. No evidence of a brown thumbprint on those babies!!

• DYH
    15 years ago

If you can grow those in pots, you can grow them in the ground, too. Those look great!

Cameron

• lovefornature
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for the nice comments everyone :) I know it seems that they are not much to look at, but if I could have got a closer shot of these they are stunning!! They have surpassed the size that was stated they would get in height. I just wish that the flowers would not fall off so easily....they are very delicate.

Lorna: I have seen a few hummers visiting them. I am on year 2 of my complete landscape makeover and am outside a lot...but believe it or not, I don't have time to watch all of the time because I am so busy. I will have to check into the hummingbird mint. Is there a certain variety. Sorry if I sound dumb.

ctnchpr: I cannot believe how healthy they are either. I believe these are the best plants I have ever grown. I have never even had a leaf go ugly or crispy. I believe this is why my brown thumbprint was not left on them :)

Cameron: Oh, but I just love them in my pots....I think the hummers probably like them better too because they are higher off of the ground.

• hummersteve
    15 years ago