Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cheri01_gw

house across the street got hummingbird feeder

cheri01
16 years ago

Now I am new to Hummingbirds so I have a question I have about 5 coming to see me at all times of the day but now the lady across the street put up some feeders. Will my hummingbirds leave or will it just bring more birds???

thanks

Comments (8)

• ghoghunter
    16 years ago

My guess is that they will visit both feeders. This way there will be less arguments of who has the right to be at the feeder!

• hummersteve
    16 years ago

Yes they will visit the house across the street. Did you think that the 5 that visit you do not already make other pit stops. They will visit the house across the street , the one around the block , or even a mile down the road. In fact they will check out anything that is red, garage pull down handle, red sign or flowers , most anything that is red will get their attention. I have several feeders , flowers and lots of hummers but they will still visit else where, change your feeders at least twice a week and they will be happy.

• Carol_Ann
    16 years ago

You'll be fine. They'll visit other feeders and plants but they'll keep coming to yours. As suggested, just make sure your nectar is fresh.

There's some research that shows that when stores of the same kind open close to each other (for example, coffee shops), it brings in more business for all the coffee shops, instead of reducing it (as you'd think would happen) -- maybe the hummer feeders will work the same way! :)

Enjoy!

• hummersteve
    16 years ago

Cheri01--- Another tip that might help if you dont already do it. I feed my hummers bottled water which I buy from walmart for $3.98 a case sams club. It has a much better taste than regular water, spoil them, afraid I have.

• dirtdiggindiva
    16 years ago