Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ctlady_gw

Gift recommendations?

ctlady_gw
16 years ago

Hi -- I'm new to this forum and am just beginning to learn about hummingbirds in connection with a bird and butterfly garden we've just put in (so I'm a newbie when it comes to the birds, if not the plants!). Here's my question: I have a dear friend in the DC area who loves hummingbirds and is trying to have a small garden (she rents a townhouse) for hummingbirds. I recommended Black and Blue Salvia to her earlier this summer and she bought some and has just seen her first hummer on it this week (she is very excited!) I need a birthday gift for her, and had set my heart on some of the gorgeous blown glass feeders that are out there, since I thought they would add a touch of beauty to her little rented garden, as well as providing something for hummers. HOWEVER, after reading up on them, it sounds as if there probably aren't any truly beautiful feeders out there that actually WORK. But I would still like to get her the most attractive (artistic, creative) one that I can, along perhaps with a truly GOOD reference book on hummingbirds (are the hummers in the Mid-Atlantic area different than the ones, say, in the Northeast?) So I am looking for recommendations for GOOD (and as beautiful as possible) feeders, plus a really good (and beautiful too, if possible) reference book.

Any ideas most appreciated! I want to do more than send a little plastic feeder (though it sounds as if they may in fact be the best bet for attracting hummers) -- I want a really beautiful gift that will also FUNCTION by actually attracting birds! There are so many truly stunning blown glass ones out there that I was dismayed to read so many negative comments about them and had given up the idea of a hummingbird-gift completely, but now that she's seen her first one (and is so excited!), I think I should go for it. But I need advice!!!

THANKS!

Comments (4)

• nicknackhummer
    16 years ago

Ctlady,