Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loratw619

newbie here....advice needed

loratw619
14 years ago

I was soooo excited when I drew my first hummer in this summer using a cheap $3 feeder I had bought at Walmart. What amazing creatures! Tiny little thing, emerald green with a red throat.

One encounter on my back porch hooked me. I planted butterfly bushes, honeysuckle, and bought three more fancy glass feeders. But after I changed the feeders to what I thought was a better model, they all disappeared! (Not to make it sound like I had that many...I only saw them on three occasions over a week or two.)

It's been about 2 weeks since I changed the feeders, and I gave the cheap plastic one to my mother who lives right up the road. She's not only getting "my" ruby throat with it, but she's seen another kind...gray with a white and red stripe around it's neck!

I've since taken the fancy feeders down and hung up another cheap one. Still no hummers. And I'm totally perplexed. Any help you guys could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a bunch,

Lora

Comments (7)

• txladybug2008
    14 years ago

I am also a newbie regarding hummingbirds. I planted a butterfly garden and the hummingbirds are a glorious addition.
    I need some help identifying what I thought was hummingbird...it was smaller than any hummingbird I have seen , almost what I would call a miniature hummingbird and it was either all over beige or peach color (it was at night when I saw it). My brother has hundreds of hummingbirds at his home so I am quite familiar with what they look like.

I couldn't take my eyes of it and it was feeding on a cleome in my yard.

Thanks for any help.

Thanks, CJ

• weed30 St. Louis
    14 years ago

CJ, you probably had a hummingbird moth, something I never knew existed until reading this forum!

• loratw619
    Original Author
    14 years ago