Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donnas_gw

Did I see that hummingbird do that???

donnas_gw
12 years ago

Just awhile ago, there was a Ruby Throated hummer at my feeder, and his beak kept extending out and going back to it's original size!!! Reminded me of Pinochio (sp). The first time I saw it, I had to question myself was I really seeing that. Then, he came back again and I saw him do it again. I've been feeding hummers for many years now, and I've never seen this happen. I know now that I wasn't seeing things LOL. What was he doing??

Comments (10)

• donnas_gw
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Did a google search to see if hummingbirds have tongues, and they do, but, his bird wasn't drinking nectar, he was just guarding the feeder from the other hummers. Still, I was was watching wide-eyed LOL

• hummersteve
    12 years ago

donnas

And you are sure it was not its tongue flicking out which they do often?

• donnas_gw
    Original Author
    12 years ago

LOL....I didn't know what it was hummersteve!! It's the first time I'd ever seen a hummingbird do that. Let's just say that hummingbird had one long tongue!!! I could say more, but I don't want to sound dirty LOL

• ctnchpr
    12 years ago

donnas, It was probably its tongue. BTW, I like the way you think, you're my kind of woman!!

• ctnchpr
    12 years ago

Here ya go...

• donnas_gw
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thank you ctnchpr. That is exactly what I saw. I am now paying more attention to the hummers that visit my feeder. I know I have at least 3 hummingbirds. I have noticed that right after the other hummers drink the nectar, sometimes their little tongues will flick out. But it comes out and goes back in so fast, and I don't think nearly as far out as the one in this picture and the one male at my feeder. I really have to be watching closely to see their tongues. I can't believe that all these years I've been feeding them, I never saw that before.