Return to the Hummingbird Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Unusual Behavior

Posted by kdee_sba CA (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 1, 08 at 21:02

I live in Santa Barbara and have the joy of having hummingbirds in my garden year round. For the last week, I have had a male Anna hummingbird (quite a chubby little guy) guarding "his" feeder by sitting around 20 Ft. from it right on the patio floor - totally unprotected from any plants. I mean right on the patio slab! At first, I thought he was sick, but he surprised me because as soon as another hummer approaches the feeder, he is there in a split second. He has been exhbiting this behavior for the past week starting around 3-4 p.m. until nightfall.
I have been feeding hummers for over 25 years in CA and have never seen this odd form of behavior. My curiosity is at its peak - has anyone seen this kind of behavior?
Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Unusual Behavior

Does he perhaps have a foot injury which makes him unable to perch?

Lorna

o

Lorna,
No, he doesn't appear to have a foot injury, as he still feeds from the feeder on the perch. I guess this is just one of those unexplained hummer behaviors...

o

I'm afraid I have no clue what he's doing, but hey, they are amazing little creatures and do many things that we don't understand! It must look quite funny I would imagine.

o

Yesterday my daughter saw a hummingbird sitting on the deck floor about 10 feet from where the feeder is hung. I thought there might be something wrong but when i got near the door to go out he zoomed away. She said he looked like he was sunning himself. I've never seen this before in 11 years of feeding and watching hummingbirds. It was a cool sunny day. If I see it again, I will try to get a picture. Hopefully there is nothing wrong with the bird.

o