Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tisha_

How long does the necture solution last?

tisha_
16 years ago

Two weeks ago, I saw my first hummingbird. Of course, I'd seen pictures and I've seen them on TV and stuff, but never in person.

Anyway, I was so excited.

Then, last week I saw either my 2nd hummingbird or I saw the same one again. It seemed to think that our chili pepper lights were tiny hummingbird feeders. Cute, but sad. So, I went and bought a feeder this weekend. Ironically, it's shaped like a giant chili pepper.

So, Monday night I mixed up some necture stuff and put it out. I think it was 1 cup of liquid and the feeder was about 3/4 full. Well, today at lunch I noticed that almost all the necture is gone. There's only maybe a teaspoon left.

Is it possible that a hummingbird drank it all that fast or is it more likely that the wind did it or something?

I have no experience with this, so I'm clueless.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments (8)

• rjinga
    16 years ago

I dont know what feeder you have, but I got some that when NOT 100% full, they completely leaked out .....I didn't notice it at first, because where it leaked was clear (sugar water) I only figured out it was leaking when the nectar turn to syrup on my porch railing!!!

(of course it's possible that it's hummers, but if you have only seen one or two, it's not as likely that they drained it in such a shor time....I have mine out for 2-4 days, and usually at day 3 it's nearly gone (I have never seen more than 3 hummers on mine at any time..and usually it's one here and there, first thing in the morning, then again in the late afternoon and evening.

But like others have said here, if you put up the feeders, eventually they will become regular visitors :)

• tisha_
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Mine is like this. (link posted below)

Here is a link that might be useful: Chili Pepper Hummingbird Feeder

• scaldude
    16 years ago