Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hummersteve

October Hummers

hummersteve
16 years ago

Even though I have been feeding hummers for a few years this is the first time to have them in Oct. I owe most of it to my hummers garden this year , my first year at it. Also last year I only had 4 feeders and that just wasnt enough to keep hummers interested in my yard enough to stay and they left me in august. This year I have 10 feeders altogether and my garden with the right plants. So this morning I was blessed with 3 hummers and this evening I have seen a couple, but I feel they will not be around very long. I wouldnt be surprised if Im not seeing any by the end of this week.

Comments (10)

• User
    16 years ago

We have 3 feeders and no plants at all. Two close neighbors each have one feeder. They live in our tree and stopped going
    to the neighbors a week before they left. I noticed they were
    flying less and eating more.. and they looked chubby. I found
    myself glued to the window being they were so fast to zoom down sip and zoom up to the tree. Part of me still thinks they
    are in that tree and im just looking at the wrong time lol
    I hope they all make it South safely!! :)

• esrungg
    16 years ago

The last one i saw was sat. and this has been the latest i have had them. I have only 2 feeders up now and I plan to leave them till the first frost just in case. Out on the deck today I felt so sad without them.

• boozie
    16 years ago

I live in SW Indiana (Newburgh). I still have a couple hummers. I plan to leave my feeders up until after Dec 1 to accomodate any migrants who may stop in for a pick-me-up.

• nanny56
    16 years ago

I am in west central Indiana and we still have a couple. They are getting nice & plump so I expect them to be on their way soon. I have 2 feeders still up. I had to take the third on down since the raccons were getting in it and emptying it every time I filled it up!!

• hummersteve
    Original Author
    16 years ago