Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lanternboy

Illegal to use sugar water in California???

lanternboy
16 years ago

I sent my sister a hummer feeder in October and I told her I like the 4 to 1 sugar water mix better then the store bought stuff. She called me yesterday and told me it was illegal to feed hummingbirds sugar water in California?

Is this true??? Never heard of such a thing!

Thanx for any help.

Comments (16)

• sidk
    16 years ago

No way that's true. Wonder if she heard that from some health food nut who thinks hummingbirds ought to eat tofu.

• Terri_PacNW
    16 years ago

Well I have been feeding sugar water at the 4:1 ratio for a few years now..Must have been doing something right..I now have 2 hummers still with me. They are on 3:1 now though since it's December and the highs are no more than 45F.
    My very bright male was out there this morning when I went out to pick a rose for the tortoises breakfast.

• sable_ca
    16 years ago

Absolutely not true. The 4 to 1 sugar water mix is exactly what's recommended here by bird supply stores and animal shelters.

• avorancher
    16 years ago

If that was so, I should be locked up for life.

I average 2 gallons of 4:1 mix a day in summer and a gallon a day in winter. Yep... that's over 1000 gallons a year.

• Terri_PacNW
    16 years ago

WOW..I know how much work 2 my one feeder rotation is..but I'd love to have that many visitors!!

• mimidi
    16 years ago

I only have visitors during the spring and summer. I have 8-10 feeders up then. I use more sugar water during migration south. Then they can empty a feeder in one day.

I was told to use the sugar water mixture in the beginning when I started feeding the hummingbirds. I didn't reply before because I live in Alabama and I knew it wasn't illegal here in the south.

• rjinga
    16 years ago