Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
squishy666

Beginner Needs Tips :)

Squishy666
9 years ago

I've recently started getting into the idea of hybridizing
I'm an amateur gardener as of about a month ago :)
I've got a little patch of garden and have been growing sunflowers and celosia (before I discovered their real name I was referring to them in my gardening journal as fluffy-flowers :P )

Google told me that african violets and zinnias are good beginners flowers for hybreeding
I've ordered a variety of seeds for both from a nearby plant store

I'm particularily interested in zinnia breeding as I've ordered more variety of them, just common breeds though, nothing fancy (student = no money)

Any vital things a beginner should know?
What successes have you had in your zinnia or violet crosses?
Which breeds worked the best?
Are there any breeds that are particularily good for a beginner - like breeds that tend to make lots of pollen or lots of seeds?

This post was edited by Squishy666 on Tue, Jan 13, 15 at 1:39

Comments (2)

• zen_man
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Squishy,

I see you just signed up with Garden Web today. Welcome to the Garden Web. As it happens, I grow and breed zinnias as a hobby. Zinnias are easy to hybridize, because their pollen florets and pollen accepting stigmas are reasonably large and accessible, as shown in this picture.

{{gwi:24902}}

You can cross two different zinnias by rubbing the pollen floret of one on the stigmas of the other.

"Any vital things a beginner should know?"