Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
treeclimber16

Directions for Hybridizing Sunflowers

TreeClimber16
21 years ago

Hello,

I would like to try Hybridizing Sunflowers. I think it would be a great project to get my 12 year old son interested in.

Can someone tell me where to start? We have never Hybridized anything, but thought Sunflowers would probably be an easy plant to start with.

Any suggestions on which seeds we should start with?

Is there a website or post here on GardenWeb with basic instructions?

Comments (8)

• hementia8
    21 years ago

I may be wrong but I think a compound flower would be the hardest to pollinate as each individual small flower would have to be dabbed.They open at different times starting in the middle and working progressively outward.
    They would have to be covered to prohibit insect pollination.I suggest daylilies as results are more satisfactory.For vegatables I suggest squash or pumpkins.
    Charlie

• david_zlesak
    21 years ago

Hi! I am a grad student at the U of MN and asked another student who is actually making crosses between sunflowers for her thesis research how she does it. She is looking at gene flow from cultivated sunflowers to wild populations growing nearby fields and has made controlled pollinations between the two. She relys on the relatively strong self-incompatibility system in sunflower. She blows off as much pollen from florets that are ready on her inflorescence to serve as a female and then pollinates with the selected male and bags it. Most of the seeds should be hybrids.

• Pierre_R
    21 years ago

If you want to play at genetics and variation it is a good idea TreeClimber16!
    Sunflowers are among the most rapid growing plants with most spectacular flowers and a large variation.
    All annuals are very compatible and will be bee crossed if grown close. Be they wild, agricultural or hort. vars, dwarf or giant. Every seed will be cross pollinated. Nothing easier!