Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
babygatr

Beginning Cross Breeder

babygatr
21 years ago

Does anyone have any good web sites for step by step cross breeding of any type of flowers? I would like to learn how to generate my own flowers/Roses either by self pollination or cross breeding(hybridization). I think that it would be a fun and interesting hobby to take up. Not to mention that I am a college student, who is short on cash and high on student loans. Thanks for your help.

Comments (3)

• membertom
    21 years ago

babygatr,
    For rose hybridizing info see the Rose Hybridizer's Association at this link:
    RHA website
    Just follow the links to a wealth of information. For other flowers, I've got a bunch of links on my
    homepage for iris, daylily and violet. I use it kind of like a bookmark file. Here's one on daylilies for instance:
    daylily
    It's a lot of fun, and there are so many nice and helpful people, you'll be glad you got started.

• jumsmith
    21 years ago

MemberTom-
    Hey i would like to say hello, and welcome... I have not been doing this long but i will help you as much as i can.

I have just recently self-pollinated Paperwhite narcissus, it was not as hard as i thought, but it will take some time to actually see what it is you are looking for. What i did was i grew 4 bulb plants (paperwhite narcissus) it did not take that long for them to bloom, 2 of them actually bloomed on Christmas. but the trick i do; i read in a book,