Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimtowle____5newhampshire

...Daylily Gene Pool

...If I were to start from scratch (and I may)and had as a goal the incredable ruffeling introduced by Brother Charles(and others). the vibrant statement in color of lets say Indian Paint Brush. Medium size and height. Rich Pastel colors of primarily Apricots, Peach and Mauve and the best possible Reblooming. What would I start with in the way of a 6-12 plant gene base. In other words what are the best stock plants available that offer(and pass on)these different qualities....as well as flower substance form and size..........Jim

Comments (10)

• Gardengail - 7a South NJ
    23 years ago

Hi Jim - I'm fairly new to hybridizing (my first seedlings bloomed last year) and I do spideries...so I may not be the best choice to answer your question. But I do have two in my garden that might be valuable - both are very pod fertile. One is Bro. Charles' HEAVENLY TREASURE. Fairly intense pastel polychrome, beautiful plant, fairly nice branching. Every pod set (I put tet spider pollen on it) It's not real bagel like and wants to pinch on hot days, a desirable trait to me. The other is RUFFLED DUDE. I was working last summer at Darrel Apps sales yard and this one kept drawing me to it - I would forget about it and then stop and check it out again. So finally I brought it home and put some spidery pollen on it, too. The flowers are big, round and flat with nice ruffles. Also very fertile and good plant habit/qualities. Darrel has used it a lot and I trust his judgement. I was going to post their pictures, but the Photoloft site seems to be down at present. Maybe later.
    GailE

• Jim Towle - ...5 New Hampshire
    Original Author
    23 years ago