Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brianmkerr

Hybridizing Impatiens/Hibiscus

brianmkerr
19 years ago

Hello Everyone, I'm new to site, but am interested to see if anyone has information on breeding and/or hybridizing impatiens. Attached is a shot of a seedling of mine.

I have 25 years experience hybridizing Hibiscus so know the mechanics of producing seedlings, but need to learn what is involved in doing same with impatiens.

I would appreciate any advice given or referral to sources of information on Impatiens. As well, I am more than willing to share my experiences with hybridizing hibiscus, both modern day and involving original species crosses.

On the subject of hibiscus, a recent topic involving mutations and violet light makes me wonder if anyone has any information on doing the same with hibiscus ?

Regards, Brian Kerr.

Comments (9)

• keking
    19 years ago

Brian,

I don't have much on the subject except some of Lucien Reychler's curious results from traumatic pollination of Impatiens.

Karl

Here is a link that might be useful: Reychler: Traumatic Pollination

• brianmkerr
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hello Karl,
    Thanks for this site. It was excellent reading and has added much to my desire to learn more about what could be. I will apply some of the info gained to both my Hibiscus and Impatien hybridizing in the future.

Thanks again.
    Regards, Brian Kerr.

• keking
    19 years ago

Brian,

I once read an article on some difficulties with Hibiscus breeding, but don't have the source. As I recall, some species of the Hibiscus rosa-sinensis group are native to islands of very different chemical constitution. A volcanic island, for example, is very different from a coral atoll. The micronutrient (trace mineral) requirements vary among the species -- each adapting to whatever is available on its native island.