Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
simonthegardener

how do you hybridize

simonthegardener
21 years ago

hi, i'm really new to hybridizing plants, but how exactly do you hybridize?

pollenate the flower with a different plant?

Comments (14)

• ultraeco
    21 years ago

You take the pollen from one type of plant and put it on the blossom of another type of plant that is related to it but not the same. They can be close crosses : zucinni squash X crookneck , or wide crosses zucinni squash X big max squashkins or pumpkins . I do not know what you plan on crossbreeding. hybrids is when you combine (crossbreed )2 diffierent parents and get an offspring different than either parent.cross a red rose and a white rose and get a pink rose as the result .

• tom_h_88
    21 years ago

Just get pollen from one plants stamen and with a brush place it on the stigma of another plant of the same family (e.e. Sweet pea 'streamer' x s/p 'horizon'). You can also cross two totally differant plants. But the odds of getting a new plant are something around 1:1000. Some breeders do it though, and make loads of money.
    Hope that helped.

• maxfarms
    21 years ago

Carol Deppes books " breeding your own vegetables"
    and a second one for gardeners and farmers will be a big help to you . see if you can get them from interlibrary loans. WELCOME TO THE WORLD OF CREATIVE GENETICS !!

• maghahalaman
    20 years ago

To be successfull in breeding plants you need to study the structure or morphology of the plant you are interested in breeding. Observe. This way you will know how to pollinate them properly. Choose plants that are related to each other by genus or by family (tip: one is more successful in breeding two different plant types of the same species than in the genus level, the probability of being sucessful in producing a cross goes down as you go farther up in the taxonomic groups (genus to family).
    Trivia: