Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spez718

Need a little help breeding brassicas that bolt late for Florida.

spez718
10 years ago

First of all I am new to the hybridizing game. I got into it randomly thinking about what crosses of broccoli and kale would be like or so and so. Than I thought what if I can maybe breed a broccoli with a collard and get a heat tolerant late bolting variety of broccoli. What do you guys and gals think at all? Any input please. Thanks ahead of time seriously.

I came across this ultra cool and motivationaly inspiring "purple peacock" variety of a "green goliath" x "red russian kale" (picture below) hybrid. That is someone elses picture but I got the seeds ordered dont worry. Isint it cool? They call kale x broccolli crosses "broccolini" i guess becuase they have plenty of off shoots.