Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daffodilgold

Hybridizing heuchera

daffodilgold
16 years ago

I am interested in creating new varieties of heuchera - what would be the best way of doing this?

Comments (2)

• sambal
    16 years ago

Hi. Your question was in May and here it is at the end of December, but it sounds as though we are interested in the same thing...hybridizing heucheras. I am a novice at this, but here is what I've been told/read. First you need two different heucheras. Then when they are both blooming, take a flower that has polllen on it, and gently stroke that over the anthers of another flower. You might have to do this several times. The seed from this cross should produce quite a few plants that differ from one another if only a bit. Or, if you are like me. I just gathered seed from a plant I grew last season that was a baby from a packet of F1 seeds. No other heuchera was blooming so the flowers were all self-pollinated. The plant I used, from the F1 seed, is called and F2. So, the seed that I collected from the F2 plant, whom I call Mikey, will be called an F3. I was told that I should probably use another initial rather than F because I don't know wjo their parents were, bit since that original packet was "f", and because I'm not a professional breeder, I'm sticking with F. ha. Mikey has the traits of size, vigor, a long blooming period and a profusion of bloom and a nice clumping habit. He also has nice sized leaves that are green with darker veins. He appears to be somewhat resistant to mildew. I'm hoping that these positve traits will be passed on in some of his babies. My biggest problem is finding other heuchs. that bloom during the same time Mikey does, and that are big enough to gather pollen, or accept pollen. A have. or had one that was so little, I couldn't hardly gather any seed. I read a question dealing with Hosta hybridizing, (my other passion), That suggested you to pot a division, or the whole plant, and grow it in an accessible