Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dutchbreedert

Successes in home breeding

dutchbreedert
16 years ago

Anyone got any success stories, managed to turn some home created varieties into cold hard cash?

Personally I just started with petunia breeding, as this is fairly easy. I don't think i will ever get any cash out of this, but i would like to know people's personal experiences on this matter. Especially on what steps are needed to get your variety commercialized.

Comments (6)

• maineman
    16 years ago

DB,

Thompson & Morgan solicit new varieties from home growers. However, I am unclear whether they pay any thing for them.

I am an amateur zinnia breeder, but I do it as an interesting hobby, and not for any expected financial gain.

MM

• hortist
    16 years ago

I circumvented the seed industry altogether and worked with a few growers that sold plants only via mail order.

Created my own isogenic line to create a tomato hybrid named "Purple Haze"

I didnt personally benefit from it. The growers kept their costs and the other money received was donated to autism charieties.

It was not just this line but a few other inbreds too which raised a few thousand that went to various national and local autism non-profit groups.

Had there been a little more marketing/promo and more seeds it likey would have made even more. What was available quickly sold out.
    In the future I hope to partner with more growers or just do so myself.

If I make the crosses myself I can control the inbreds and avoid the expense of PVP which now favors larger companies who can afford the nearly $5000 application fee. Probably never get to where I am supplying larger farms but that is not my target breeding objectives or market anyway.

• mephisto
    12 years ago

Well, a "thread" that's been around, inactive a while, but "such a pertinent" subject is it not...at least to those of us who, as the author specifies, are participating admittedly at least somewhat for business reasons.