Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heatherjenn

Basic Hybridizing Info?

heatherjenn
15 years ago

I'm pretty new to gardening, and the idea of hybridizing and creating new species of plants fascinates me! Can someone recommend a good place (either website or book) that will teach me the basics of plant biology, reproduction and genetics ect?

Thanks!

Comments (4)

• agent1xe13
    15 years ago

Hi,

I don't know about books, but there are many web sites that deal with hybridizing plants. Most deal with very specific genera, not hybridizing in general. So it would help knowing what you intend to try your hand at to start with.

The basic step is very simple: put some pollen (male part) on the stigma (female part) of the plant. That being said, the anatomy of a plant can be very different depending on the genus: in some genera, there are male plants and female plants while on most, the 2 reproductive organs can be found on the same plant.

Sometimes, what appears to be a flower in not, it is rather made of several flowers that look like a single bloom. On others, the flower seems to be very big because of its colored bracts, but the flower itself is very tiny.

In some genera, species can be crossed easily (interspecific) while in others, it is harder. In yet other cases, crosses can easily be made between different genera (intergeneric).

Then you have the seeds you have to wait for until they rippen. Some will germinate very easily, other are very hard to germinate like peonies. Some will bloom very fast after sowing, others will take years before they do.