Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bobbi_p

Color dominance of Dolichos lablab (Hyacinth/Lablab bean)

bobbi_p
18 years ago

Anyone know the patterns?

I know there are purple and white for sure (I've got both). I've read about red, pink, and lavendar as well.

I didn't intend to have both colors, but do, so was wondering about keeping the colors independent.

I feel like Mendel! : )

Comments (3)

• geoforce
    18 years ago

All of mine are purple flowered and podded, so I have no first-hand knowledge but:

Qince Dolichos is basically the same genetically as the garden peas that Mendel used, I would imagine the same relationship of dominance. The color should dominate over the white. That said, the implication of intermediate colors would argue for lack of a dominant/recessive relationship and more for an additive relationship as in mirabilis, but I doubt this. If there are other colors, it is probably a seperate gene mechanism at work.

There other species of dolichos besides lablab.

George

• keking
    18 years ago

I don't know specifically about lablab beans, but in many other plants the purple/lavendar/blue shades involve a pigment and a co-pigment, often chelated with a metal ion. This applies to chicory, hyacinths, bluebells, balloon flowers, etc.

White is the lack of pigment. Red/pink results from the loss of the co-pigment.

White should be true-breeding if protected from cross-pollination. The others might segregate, so you'll need to test each plant separately to see what might be lurking within.

To test your purples you should raise 24 self-seedlings from each plant. If a plant produces all 24 purple-flowered offspring there is only one chance in 1000 that the parent is homozygous for purple/white.

Mendel raised only 10 offspring per plant, which means he would have misidentified 5 or 6 "hybrid" plants as true-breeding.

Karl

• admmad
    18 years ago