Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
petalpusher_mi

Collecting pollen

Petalpusher_MI
19 years ago

I am new to hibridizing and would like to know what is the best and most productive way to collect and transfer pollen from one flower to another?

And by what means do you protect the flower from being pollenated again by insects and or birds?

I would like to try it , but have never known the proper procedure.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments (2)

• Raymondo
    19 years ago

I'm no expert but I'll put in my penny's worth. Pollen collection methods vary from flower to flower, it being heavily dependent on flower anatomy. Some are easy to access and retrieve pollen from, others extremely difficult. That's not much in the way of advice but does suggest that if you specified what you are trying to collect pollen from there may well be people who have tried it for the same plant and who will therefore have a wealth of information to share with you.
    As for protecting a flower you have pollinated, bagging is a common method used. Several amateur tomato breeders recommend those organza bags you can get through wedding supplies companies.
    Hope this helps.

• jon_d
    19 years ago