Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gtoth99

How do you hybridize trees zone 4-5 to zone 3?

gtoth99
16 years ago

How do you hybridize trees zone 4-5 to zone 3?

I would really like to try to hybridize japanese maple so it can survive zone 3b.

How is it usually done?

I'm new to this.

Thanks.

Comments (7)

• agent1xe13
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Even though I'm no expert in tree hybrids, I would say that what you want to do is more a matter of selection than hybridizing. You would need to get seeds from the hardiest of the japanese maples, sow them and see which one will survive in a colder zone. Then you could select these ones, use their seeds again and see if you would find some that would survive colder conditions yet. It is a long process, but it is one of the best way to improve a plant.

Another way to go would be crossing 2 or more of the hardiest of the japanese maple and proceed as above. In any case, it comes down to selecting the hardiest plant from a large number of their seeds and try to improve on that from selection to selection.

You could also try to cross a japanese maple with a hardier type of maple and see which seeds will do best in colder conditions, but of course, they wont be japanese maples anymore after crossing them with another species. And you would have to know if such a cross between 2 different species of maples is possible in the first place and second if it would yields viable seeds. Hope this helps a bit!

• gtoth99
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I wonder If I graft the japanese maple onto a regular hardy maple in my climate?

I'm hoping to find someone that has seeds for a dwarf maple variety so i can try this.

• agent1xe13
    16 years ago

>>I wonder If I graft the japanese maple onto a regular hardy maple in my climate?Grafting