Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sambal_gw

What is the progeny of an F1 that is open pollinated?

sambal
16 years ago

Hi. I'm a newbie to this forum. A few years ago I ordered some heuchera and some hosta seeds that were described as being the seeds from open pollinated F1 plants. There is one heuchera from this seeding that has wonderful vigor, blooms over a very long time, and is of good size. It starts blooming earlier than my other heuchs, and nearly all of the blossoms produced seeds. I'm guessing that it was most likely selfed.I am getting ready to sow these seeds. Is it correct to expect the babies to revert back to the parents of the original F1's? What are the progency of the original F1 babies called? And, what do I call their babies? I'm having trouble keeping track of what to label the plants. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Happy Holidays. Sam

Comments (7)

• maineman
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Sam,

I think we discussed this elsewhere. The progeny of F1 hybrids are called F2 hybrids, so the seeds you received were F2 seeds. Your "Mikey" was an F2. The seeds you are getting ready to sow from Mikey are F3 seeds. Because "Mikey" was heterozygous, your F3 seedlings will vary quite a lot, but some of them might be good, and there is some possibility that some of them might be even better than "Mikey". There is no guarantee of that, because random processes are at work.

MM

• sambal
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you maineman! Now,all I need to do is hope for good germination and keep the snails and slugs away. Sam

• maineman
    16 years ago

Sam,

"...all I need to do is hope for good germination and keep the snails and slugs away."