Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cagoldbear

Wanted: Big blooms in shade, Gulf Coast/Texas

Tiffan
9 years ago

Hi folks -

I've been nursing a couple of ES hydrangeas for a couple of years now, hoping they would eventually fill out to their 3' max, but it's just not happening. I have them in bright shade, on a north-facing wall, in west Houston. I'm generally a 9 for heat and an 8a for occasional freezes.

So, I'd like to figure out which specimens will do best in my chosen location. I also want to plant them along our side fence in the backyard, under some oaks. Will Nikko Blue do well in bright shade in the South? How about Annabelle? Any ideas for deep shade/under oaks? I want a big gal, maybe 4' or 5' round. Any advice, folks?

Comments (3)

• luis_pr
    9 years ago

Many of macrophyllas for sale usually get 5-6' in height. But, it usually takes abou 10 years or so to achieve their advertised height/width.... although in places with a long growing season (like here in TX), it may take less time. Just look at the plant label's height/width to make sure it will work for you. Many of the Endless Summer Series Hydrangeas and many of the Forever and Ever Series will work for you. And they are commonly sold here at Lowes, Walmart and others.

No pruning, a stable water regimen and high nitrogen fertilizers (blood mdeal for examlpe) will also help accelerate grow. Just don't go overboard. Do not overwater as this can cause fungal diseases or root rot. And do not overfertilize as you can end with nice lush green leaves and no blooms.