Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donna1952_gw

Hydrangea Seeds

donna1952
17 years ago

I am curious so would like to hear from any of you on the subject Hydrangea Seeds. I cannot recall seeing any seeds on my hydrangeas and would like to learn more about where they are, when to harvest them, and how to propagate them. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Comments (5)

• gerryblackthumb
    17 years ago

Hi,
    I am totally new to gardening and not very computer savvy but I do have a question about my newly planted hydrangea and I have no idea how to post the question. Can someone please help?

• mrgpag SW OH Z5/6
    17 years ago

gerryblackthumb - go to the main Hydrangea Forum page and up at the top, click on the "post a message" link and start typing.

Donna1952 - the best way to collect hydrangea seed is to take a bloom that has completely dried - in the fall is the best time - put in a zip-lok bag and shake it for all your worth. The fine dust you'll see in the bottom of the bag is your seed. Get rid of as much chaff and debris that you can, lightly scatter the seed on to a prepared seed flat of moistened soil, mist a bit to get good soil/seed contact, place the flat in a warm sunny place and germination usually occurs within two weeks. Make sure the soil mix doesn't dry out during the waiting period. But be advised that the eventual plants you get from seed may, but probably won't resemble the plant and blooms from which you gathered the seeds. But it's fun to see what turns up in a couple years. I do this with h. paniculata and h. quercifolia annually and have acquired some very nice specimens. Should work with all the other species as well.

• hayseedman
    17 years ago