Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smithnwb_gw

How to save my potted hydrangea plant

smithnwb
10 years ago

I will start off with stating that I am completely new to the plant life world. I do not have a green thumb and I am completely clueless as to how to take care of them. I know this, so I don't buy plants. However, my father passed away in December and my parent's house was overwhelmed with plants so we all took some home. I inherited a peace lily, hydrangea and a pot of assorted plants (no clue as to what's in that pot). But I have NO clue how to care for any of them. The assorted plant is doing ok, and my peace lily isn't doing terrible, but my poor hydrangea is looking pitiful. I haven't planted it outside because we are hoping to move to a bigger/more permanent home within the next year so I would like to wait until then. Obviously these plants are very special to me so I would like to keep them healthy and alive as long as possible. I attached a picture of what my poor hydrangea looks like now. Any help on what I need to do to bring it back would be greatly appreciated! Thank you and have a blessed day!

Comments (15)

• smithnwb
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Also, I have read that you have to know what kind of hydrangea you have in order to know how to take care of it ... I'm not sure if that's true or not, but if so, I have no clue as to what kind it is either. I don't know if anyone can tell what kind it is by the picture of what it looks like now, so I thought I would post this picture of it from right after the funeral so maybe that will help??

• hc mcdole
    10 years ago