Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roseblooms

help!! brown blooms

roseblooms
11 years ago

I am new to gardening and need to know what to do with my Mophead hydrangea. I got my plant about 2 months ago. I bought it pot planted with two opening blooms and a few buds. The weather has been 60-70s during to day. Over the last few weeks the weather got hotter and required me to water daily. I found it need water that often because if I didn't water it, at night, the blooms looked wilted. Now I water it nightly and it has 8 blooms. All the new blooms are a beautiful blue except the originals which has a few brown flowers. The plant looks healthy but I don't want all the flowers to turn brown. Was it the fact that I didn't water it often enough or is it something else?? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Comments (3)

• luis_pr
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

It is hard to say. Hydrangea blooms will change colors in time; they do not remain blue for more than a few weeks. They could start -for example- pink, purpe, blue or white and then go thru a progression of color changes that ends in brown. I was not clear on how your blooms got to brown.

A direct shift from the original color to brown would be unusual and could indicate one of several issues such as the plant being exposed to too much sunlight or watering problems (too much or too little).

If this type of hydrangea reblooms, I would simply deadhead the spent brown blooms as that will trigger production more blooms. If it does not rebloom, you will get new blooms probably in Spring 2014.

Flower buds get generated around July-August of every year. They will be invisible until Spring when the plant blooms. But reblooming hydrangeas will then produce new flower buds about a month or more later and these will open in a few weeks so you will have about 1+ month to 2 months (approximate time) of waiting time for more blooms. In the meantime, you can either keep or deadhead the brown spent blooms.