Return to the Hydrangea Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Growth rate-time

Posted by IRuehl none (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 16, 11 at 23:29

I just planted my first Hydrangea (Nikko Blue) Its came in a one gallon, I planted it in a shady area that gets mostly deep shade, but the last 3 hours of sunlight a day will reach it. I was wondering how long until its full grown. How much do Nikko Blues take to reach the 6'X6' I have seen them at? Its about 15in now, starting to bud and get leaves. Sorry, but I am new to gardening! Thanks again!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Growth rate-time

Oops, its in zone 8, Savannah Ga,

o

Hello, IRuehl. The growth rate depends on such things as the length of your growing zone, soil nutrients and moisture, pruning, etc. A 1-g plant may become 3' over here in a few years (3 years maybe?). The size given in plant labels is a commercial term that means at 10 years of age so if you see a label advertising 4x4 then that is 4x4 at 10 years.

By the way, your shrub does not need to be fertilized this first year as the soil in your pot probably came with those round fertilizer pellets. You can start next year by using a general-purpose fertilizer like Osmocote (per label directions) or you can also use composted manure or about 1/2 cup of cottonseed meal. Apply it in May and July in the South and June in the northern half of the country.

You should also not need to prune the plant if it was planted in a location where it can reach 6x6 and not bother you or the other nearby plants.