Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
johnroscoe

White/Re-blooming/Dwarf Hydrangea?

JohnRoscoe
11 years ago

I'm new to hydrangeas, but in now way new to gardening. I'd like to find a white, re-blooming, dwarf cultivar to add to a mixed bed in the front of our home.

I've done a lot of plant tag reading and digging through websites, but am not coming up with anything, so I thought I'd turn to the experts here. Do any of you have any suggestions I should check out?

Dwarf isn't a must have if I can manage the size by pruning, but the plant will be in front a of a formal hedge, and I don't want to completely obscure it.

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• October_Gardens
    11 years ago

The easiest mophead macrophylla to find would be Forever & Ever White Out. It grows to only 30x30" and reblooms Summer-frost (not sure if there is a compact white that begins in Spring?) They don't seem to be sold in large numbers, but should appear at places like Lowe's as they have the past couple of seasons. 3-gals of Forever & Ever products can sometimes be found at independent nurseries, but can run from $35-40.

If you are in a sunny spot you could try paniculatas Bombshell or Little Lime, and less commonly White Diamonds although I've seen it around this season. They would require little pruning and bloom on new wood so how much you prune is up to you. The paniculatas are most commonly sold in 3-gallon containers as well and are in the $40 price range.

Here is a link that might be useful: F&E White Out Hydrangea

• JohnRoscoe
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you Springwood. That looks like a great fit. Their dealer locator shows Lowe's as the only option, I wouldn't have thought to look their for something unique.

• Mari_88
    11 years ago

Are their any other cultivators that bloom white for part shade? The site I have in mind get dappled light all day and very little direct sun. Thanks!

• October_Gardens
    11 years ago