Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
liz_p

Question for Luis_pr or Dfw growers

liz_p
10 years ago

I am fairly new to gardening and have a bed I'd like to plant hydrangeas. Is now a good time to plant? What kind of hydrangeas do you have? I'm interested in limelight. What do I amend with? Is it bad to plant directly below a tree? Do their roots compete? Sorry for all the questions but I have not had great success. Thanks for the help!

Comments (8)

• luis_pr
    10 years ago

Yes, now would be a good time to plant. Any variety that is hardy would work. Oakleafs do well once they are established and do not need as much water as the others. But you need to add compost if your soil is also clayish because oakleafs tend to die quickly if allowed to sit in wet soil. Most of the hydrangeas in my home used to be here. The majority are mophead, which includes a lacecap that came with a mophead tag! Hee hee hee! But I also have oakleafs and arborescens. You can also plant paniculatas (may be difficult to find but Calloways and NHG have carried them in past years) or serratas (they tend to be smaller and also difficult to find locally).

The only time when planting under a tree is a problem is when the tree has roots near the top few inches of the soil (then the roots can compete with hydrangeas for moisture or fertilizer) or when it produces juglone (toxic to hydrangeas). Local nurseries should be able to tell you this information if you have the name of the tree(s).

What do you think has been the problem before?

Luis