Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ally_ld

Hydrangea pruning

ally_ld
15 years ago

Will tip pruning the terminals of Hydrangea serrata types promote the release of more flowers along the stem? My understanding has always been that removing terminal buds causes lateral buds to break resulting in a more compact plant with more flowers. I am new at growing Hydrangeas and wonder if this type of pruning is good for them.

Thank you

Ally

Comments (11)

• ego45
    15 years ago

Yes and no.
    H.serrata, as well as H.macrophilla and H.quersifolia, forming next year flower buds in z6 during the months of August-September. For hydrangeas flower buds are always terminal.
    Therefore, by pruning terminal buds NOW you will essentialy eliminate plant's ability to bloom this year.
    However, if in August-early September you will cut flowers or just simply prune off stem to the STRONG PAIR of buds (usualy they are 3rd or 4th pair below terminal bud) both of those buds will produce side/lateral branches and each of them will form its own terminal flowering bud, thus you'll increase flower production, although flowers will be more numerous, but smaller.
    This type of pruning will result in a more compact plant next season only, year after that it will be as big as it was before. Dencer, yes, but not more compact.
    P.S. I do this type of pruning only in a non-flowering years, which in my 6b zone could be 1 out of the 4-5 years.

• yellowgirl
    15 years ago

I would respectfully disagree with the statement "For hydrangeas flower buds are always terminal."