Return to the Hydrangea Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How fast do hydrangeas grow/how to propegate

Posted by karri25 7 (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 11, 06 at 15:04

I really want huge, beautiful hydrangeas lining the side of my house! I have one so far :) How fast do they grow and how can I propegate so that I am don't have to get so deep in my pocket? The nurseries around here sell them for $15.00 a piece or up. I will need around 8-10 to fill in the side of my house. I am new to hydrangeas, even though they are my favorite flower, and want to learn how to help them be beautiful and healthy! Any help is appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How fast do hydrangeas grow/how to propegate

Probably the way to get the most plants the quickest would be taking cuttings off your mother plant. See a site like www.hyrangeashydrangeas.com for info on propogation.

If you have a friend who's Hydrangea you particular like, you could even get some cuttings for free.

This takes some time though to give you a big full mature bed, remember Hyrangeas bloom on old wood. So the first year the cuttings pretty much are getting established, then the next one it's growing, but there's not really any old wood yet to bloom on, it may be 3-4 years for the plant to get established enough to really have an impact with blooms (huge beautiful hydrangeas).

Branch cuttings, where you take low hanging branches and fasten them to the ground and let them root, those seem to get going faster and stronger. (You just don't get as many.)

In the end you have to sort of strike a balance between how long you're willing to wait and how much money you want to save on big plants.

I'd recommend buying a number of plants and stretching them out throughout the area. Then filling in between with cuttings, then maybe again after that.