Return to the Hydrangea Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
how to treat hydrangea Powdery Mildew?

Posted by taniamelbourne none (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 3, 14 at 20:06

Hi everyone,

Im new to gardening. I bought hydrangea for 1 month already, last 2 weeks, it start moldy and got white dot on the leaves,i sprayed 'rose gun' which can treat powdery mildew, but I found it stop pruning.

Should I cut the leaves? but i dont want to cust all leaves... should I cut the flower as it stop purning?

BTW im from Melbourne and its autumn now.

Thanks everyone.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: how to treat hydrangea Powdery Mildew?

as you can see it stop pruning. and the flower buds all turned red now...should I cut them so it can prune next year?

o

Remove the worst leaves. Spray with a fungicide for the other leaves including new leaves. Once moved outside you shouldn't have this problem. You can deadhead any spent blooms but don't cut too far into the old wood since that is where the next year's blooms will come from.

o

Thanks for your reply.

Now I moved it to outside under shade, but I think all the leaves got mildew... should I cut all the leaves? I sprayed for 2 weeks, and i dont think its getting better :(

And what do you mean by 'old wood' (sorry im pretty new to this), this is brand new hydrangea, and theres only 1 bloom, should i cut it?

o

Spraying affected leaves won't get rid of any visible spots but should stop any new spots from forming and protect new leaves. What did you spray with?