Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lostinthe90s

Wanting to buy a plant..need help!

lostinthe90s
10 years ago

I have been looking around recently at some plants I might want to go in my garden. Hydrangeas are just beautiful and would love a big plant next to my porch. I've been reading a few different things but I'm new to this and need some clarification. All the plants I see already have establish "balls" on them. Is that a no-no? I would buy it and then immediately plant it into the ground. Is there anything special that needs to be done? I don't know the alkalinity of my soil or anything like that and I live in Western KY. Either in 6a or 6b. Very close, hard to tell. Any advice would help.

Comments (3)

• luis_pr
    10 years ago

Wholesalers prefer to sell plants that are flowering so it is ok (probably preferable) to buy them when in bloom. That way you will not end with a mislabeled plant. The blooms will last thru the Winter months but the color will change as the blooms fade. They prefer shade in the afternoon and well draining, acidic, moist soil. They will tolerate some alkalinity but, if yours is high enough, it would be best to amend the soil with something to make the soil more acidic. I amend my alkaline soil always in Spring and sometimes again in August with either Garden Sulphur, greensand, iron sulfate, aluminum sulfate or iron chelated liquid compounds. At least one of these should be available in most plant nurseries. Your nearby local nurseries (and maybe some neighbors) might be able to tell you if your soil is acidic or alkaline. There are kits sold at nurseries that will give you a cheap way (not terribly exact reading) of your soil pH. If your soil is acidic, your blooms should turn a shade of blue; if alkaline they should turn a shade a pink. Then after several weeks, as the blooms fade, they will change colors, eventually turning brownish by the Fall. You can keep them thru the winter or deadhead them (not the same thing as pruning!).